getting real. sorta.


sports design: the first adventure
July 11, 2010, 12:04 am
Filed under: the underling, Uncategorized

SO, I DESIGNED SPORTS THREE DAYS this week. Yeah, three. It was pretty awesome. I also got to design the front of the sports section on two pretty important days in the world of sports. Not important so much as hyped-up rather.

LeBron James was to make his decision and made his decision the two days I did the sports front.

FIRST DAY ON THE JOB
My first page came out pretty good, I think. I really like the concept I came up with and I like how I was able to execute it. It was fun being in a totally different part of the newsroom. Sports is pretty much a different world than news. They have their own copy editors, designers, editors, etc. They have separate placement meetings and a completely different process by which they get through the night. A little bit less organized, perhaps, but it’s a small space, so it works.

Plus it’s pretty much all men. So I don’t have to dress as nicely as I do when I know there are going to be other women around with super cute shoes and even cuter accessories. The competition to look presentable is a lot lower over there. :D

SECOND DAY ON THE JOB
My second page was not as good as my first, I think. It didn’t help that I had to wait until practically 9:30 p before I knew the direction of the lede story (so much for making his announcement in the first 10 min. of the program. way to draw it out for 20 more minutes. ugg.). I had some concepts floating off to the side I kinda liked. The one with all the jerseys — and the one we ended up using — was my favorite idea.

I still think the idea is good, and I’m pleased with the way the jerseys came out (I made them in Photoshop and it’s been awhile since I’ve done anything like that in there, I usually use InDesign). But I don’t think it was as strong as it could have been.

Yesterday I did another sports shift, this time designing the At Bat centerspread in Sunday’s paper. It was fun but my mind hurt from working with degrees, percentages and arcs as I powered through my pie-chart infographic on A-Rod getting close to 600 HR. When I finally get the PDF of that, I’ll get it posted on here.

I think sports is by far my favorite section. Which is not surprising. People who know my design aesthetic can probably very much tell that I was the one who designed those two pages. Cheeky concepts and realistic-looking jerseys are apparently things I like to do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

