getting real. sorta.


the IHOP experience
July 11, 2010, 2:03 am
Filed under: the east coaster

I WAS HUNGRY LAST NIGHT AFTER WORK, well, hungry and tired. So naturally I did not want to slave away in the kitchen preparing a meal (as there is no microwave all the food I eat is either cereal, sandwiches or top ramen) and convinced one of my friends to take me to IHOP (apparently I was also too tired to drive). Little did we know what was in store for us once we got there…

That place was all abuzz in its ghetto-fabulous glory. Being that it was just around 2:00 a, all the barflies were gathering at the local 24-hour IHOP. When we walked in, we noticed we didn’t quite fit in for a few reasons. Not only were we pretty much the only sober people there, it appeared we were also the only white people. No big deal, just the only time I think I’ve really had that situation happen. Still, no big deal. The reason why I’m mentioning this is because when our server went to seat us, it became clear that some parts of Virginia are still all about segregation.

Our server led us to the back and around a corner, passing many empty tables as we went. Didn’t think much of it until we arrived at the section in which we were to be seated. It became clear that this would be our final destination when we saw the only other table occupied in this portion of the restaurant. Sitting in the booth next to ours were five white guys. Ah, I thought to myself, this is why we were put all the way over here. Sure enough, confirming my suspicions, mere moments after we sit down, another group is seated at a table nearby. Yup, they too were white.

It would have been a lovely experience to share with dear friends such as Sarah or Kate, but alas, I had to enjoy the amazingness of examining my life practically solo.

Come to Virginia, friends, and experience segregation.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] have any of it. well, last night i realized how much of it i didn’t have. i got hungry (as i oft do) so i decided to get some food. i didn’t feel like slaving over a humming microwave for two […]

Pingback by a po’ lady « life as an intern




Leave a Reply

